< Back



Under the administration of the Motor Vehicles Act of 1988, Regional Transport Offices (RTO) have been established in Manipur. RTOs in Manipur are primarily tasked with maintaining a complete database, including PUC, RC, etc., of all types of registered vehicles in Manipur. Moreover, all the drivers also need to get a driving licence from the RTO office to drive any vehicle in Manipur.

Let’s discuss the functions of the RTO office in Manipur in detail.

Functions of RTO office Manipur

Every RTO office in Manipur enforces the rules & laws listed in the Motor Vehicles Act of 1988 and plays an important role in ensuring road safety in the state. Some of the critical functioning of the RTO department are as follows -

1. Registration of vehicles - RTO is responsible for issuing permanent and temporary registration certificates for all vehicles in Manipur.

2. Issuing and renewing the driving licence - Various types of driving licences are granted by the RTO for an individual after conducting proper driving tests.

3. Collection of taxes - RTO offices in Manipur are in charge of collecting all types of taxes levied on motor vehicles

4. Inspection of vehicles - Time-to-time inspections of various types of vehicles are performed by the RTO Manipur. It is done to ensure that pollution is under control and that the vehicle is not harming the environment.

List of ARTO & RTO offices in Manipur (with codes)

The state of Manipur has a total of 8 operational RTO offices with their own unique RTO code. Here is the list for your reference.

RTO location RTO code
Imphal West MN 01
Chura Chandpur MN 02
Kangpokpi MN 03
Thoubal MN 04
Bishnupur MN 05
Imphal East MN 06
Ukhrul MN 07
Senapati MN 08

Types of driving licences issued at RTO office Manipur

Basically, there are four types of driving licences issued by the RTO department in Manipur.

1. Learner’s Licence - This initial licence is issued to individuals learning how to drive a vehicle. The learner’s licence is usually valid for only six months but can be renewed by the RTO offices.

2. Permanent Driving Licence - Individuals above 18 years of age who have passed all the required tests of driving are issued a permanent driving licence, including a Light vehicle, Heavy vehicle, and Trailer licence.

3. Commercial Driving Licence - This licence is issued to someone who drives vehicles for commercial purposes, either to facilitate the transportation of goods or people.

4. International Driving Permit - Individuals traveling abroad may want to drive on their own in foreign countries. Such individuals can get an International driving licence or permit to drive on foreign shores.

If you wish to acquire a driving licence, you can visit the official RTO website of your state, in this case, the website of RTO Manipur. Alternatively, you can visit your nearest RTO office in Manipur, depending on where you reside, to avail of their services.

Disclaimer: The content provided is for education and informational purpose only, none of the information contained in our blog amounts to any form of opinion or advice. Please go through policy related documents carefully or consult an expert before making any insurance-related decisions.


Car Insurance Benefits


Benefits of car insurance

A car insurance can help you offset substantial financial loss that you may incur because of damage caused to your car

Add-on covers for Car Insurance


Must have Add On Covers for Car Insurance

A basic comprehensive car insurance covers damage to car, 3rd party liability and theft & loss of vehicle.

Car insurance


Right time to buy vehicle insurance

Buying a vehicle insurance is an important decision and you need to ensure that you make a timely purchase of vehicle insurance



Know How Car Insurance Premium Is Calculated

Car insurance premium calculation is based on various important factors. Learn about these factors.



Rules to follow for safe driving

Know About The Important Road Safety Rules To Follow





Significance of a motor vehicle insurance policy

Apart from financial security, know in what all ways a motor insurance policy is significant.



Maintenance tips for car engine

Follow these maintenance tips and buy a car insurance with engine protection cover to keep engine secure.

Monsoon Tips Car


Monsoon Tips for Car

Simple tips to help you stay safe and keep your car moving ahead during monsoon.

What is Zero Depreciation Cover


What is Zero Depreciation Cover

Read on to understand what is zero depreciation car insurance cover and how it works.

Questions Regarding Motor Insurance Policies


Questions Regarding Motor Insurance Policies

Essential questions answered about motor insurance policies in India.