RTO Office Karnataka


04 Aug 2023

RTO Office Karnataka

Karnataka is a large state with a large network of roads, and the government has a lot of responsibilities in transportation & road safety. Therefore, the RTO Offices located all around the state assist the government in enforcing laws and collecting taxes.

Many cities and districts in Karnataka have RTO offices established as per the Motor Vehicle Act of 1988. The RTO office performs several more duties in addition to simply upholding the law in Karnataka, which we have discussed below.

Functions of RTO Office Karnataka

The primary responsibility of the RTO office in Karnataka are as follows:

• Renewal of RC (Registration Certificate)

• Issue Duplicate RC

• Renewal & Issuance of various types of Driving Licence

• Cancellation Vehicle Hire-Purchase Agreement

• Temporary & Permanent Vehicle Registration

• Endorsement of Vehicle Hire-Purchase

• Recording changes in the address & other details of the vehicle owner

• Audit & Manage Tax Payment

• Issuing Vehicle Fitness Certificate

List of ARTO & RTO offices in Karnataka (with code)

RTO Name

RTO Code

RTO Bengaluru Central

KA - 01

RTO Bengaluru West

KA - 02

RTO Bengaluru East

KA - 03

RTO Bengaluru North

KA - 04

RTO Bengaluru South

KA - 05

RTO Tumakuru

KA - 06

RTO Kolar

KA - 07


KA - 08

RTO Mysuru West

KA - 09

RTO Chamarajanagar

KA - 10

RTO Mandya

KA - 11

RTO Madikari

KA - 12

RTO Hasan

KA - 13

ARTO Sagar

KA - 14

RTO Chitradurga

KA - 15

RTO Shivamogga

KA - 16

RTO Davanegere

KA - 17

RTO Chikkamagaluru

KA - 18

RTO Manhaluru

KA - 19

RTO Udupi

KA - 20

RTO Puttur

KA - 21

RTO Belagavi

KA - 22

RTO Chikkodi

KA - 23

ARTO Bairahongal

KA - 24

RTO Dhadwad

KA - 25

RTO Gadag

KA - 26

RTO Haveri

KA - 27

RTO Vijayapura

KA - 28

RTO Bagalkote

KA - 29

RTO Karwar

KA - 30

RTO Sirsi

KA - 31

RTO Kalaburgi

KA - 32

RTO Yadagiri

KA - 33

RTO Bellari

KA - 34

RTO Hosapete

KA - 35

RTO Raichur

KA - 36

RTO Koppal

KA - 37

RTO Bidar

KA - 38

ARTO Bhalki

KA - 39

RTO Chickballapura

KA - 40

RTO Jnanabharathi

KA - 41

RTO Ramanagar

KA - 42

RTO Devanahalli

KA - 43

ARTO Tiptur

KA - 44

ARTO Hunsur

KA - 45

ARTO Sakaleshpura

KA - 46

ARTO Honnavar

KA - 47

ARTO Jamakhandi

KA - 48

ARTO Gokak

KA - 49

RTO Yelahanka

KA - 50

RTO Electronic City

KA - 51

ARTO Nelamangala

KA - 52

RTO Mysuru East

KA - 55

ARTO Basavakalyana

KA - 56

RTO A/R & STU Bengaluru

KA - 57

RTO Banashankari, Bengaluru

KA - 58

RTO R.T. Nagar Bengaluru

KA - 60

RTO Marathalli Bengaluru

KA - 61

RTO Surathkal, DakshinaKannada (Dist)

KA - 62

RTO Dharwad East

KA - 63

ARTO Madhugiri, Tumakuru (Dist)

KA - 64

ARTO Dandeli Uttara Kannada (Dist)

KA - 65

ARTO Tarikere Chikkamagaluru

KA - 66

ARTO Chintamani Chikkaballapura

KA - 67

ARTO Ranibennur Haveri

KA - 68

ARTO Ramadurga Belagavi

KA - 69

ARTO Bantwala Dakshina Kannada

KA - 70

RTO Krishnarajapuram

KA - 53

RTO Nagamangala

KA - 54

RTO Chandpura

KA - 59

Types of Driving Licence Issued at RTO Office, Karnataka

The following are the types of driving licences issued at the RTO office in Karnataka:

• Two-wheeler motorcycles licence for an engine capacity of 50 ccs or less.

• Heavy goods motor vehicle licence

• Light motor vehicle licence for commercial use

• Light motor vehicle licence for the non-transport purpose

• Heavy passenger motor vehicle or open licence

• Light motor vehicle licence with gear for engine capacity of 50 ccs or more.

• Light motor vehicle licence without gear (of any cc)

• A heavy trailer licence for those who already have a heavy vehicle driving licence

That’s all for the brief overview of the RTOs in Karnataka. With the information given above, it will be easier for you to find your specific RTO and get your driving licence or any vehicle permit with the due application process. Moreover, follow all the traffic rules to avoid any fines, which includes having valid & up-to-date motor insurance.

Now that you've learned about RTO norms for your vehicle, it's wise to prioritize its protection with bike and car insurance from Kotak General Insurance.

RTO Offices in Popular Cities in India

RTO Office Mumbai

RTO Office Bengaluru

RTO Office Kolkata

RTO Office Delhi

RTO Office Chennai

RTO Office Uttarakhand

RTO Office Pune

RTO Office Kalyan

RTO Office Lucknow

RTO Office Noida

RTO Office Navi Mumbai

RTO Office Faridabad

RTO Office Ahmedabad

RTO Office Andhra Pradesh

RTO Office Arunachal Pradesh

RTO Office Bihar

RTO Office Chandigarh

RTO Office Gurgaon

RTO Office Indore

RTO Office Jaipur

RTO Office Jharkhand

RTO Office Karnataka

RTO Office Panvel


Related Blogs
Fine for riding a bike wearing sandals and steps to pay traffic challan online or offline
Reimbursement Vs Cashless Car Insurance Claims
Be the smartest applicant for a two wheeler loan

Team Kotak GIC

The content of this blog has been created and carefully reviewed by the esteemed team at Kotak General Insurance, with the sole purpose of providing valuable guidance and sharing insights on the importance of general insurance. Our objective is to assist users in making informed decisions when purchasing or renewing insurance policies for their cars, bikes, and health. Our expertly curated information aims to empower our readers with the knowledge they need to protect their valuable assets and financial interests.