Driving legally: Understanding the different types of driving licenses in India


08 Jan 2024

Drive legally with various license types.

The Motor Vehicles Act of 1988 states that anyone willing to drive a motor vehicle in India must have an Indian driving license (DL). A driver's license (DL) is a government-issued legal driving document that confirms the holder's eligibility to operate a motor vehicle. India offers multiple license types, each serving a different function. Read on as we discuss the various types of driving licenses in India and the importance of four-wheeler insurance.

License classifications in India

There are four different kinds of driving licenses that are issued in India by the Regional Transport Office (RTO):

Learner's License (LL):

A learner's license is a temporary permit that gives the holder a chance to learn and ride a motor vehicle. This type of Indian driving license is valid for 6 months from the date of issue. Driving in India is only possible for people who are at least 18 years of age and have applied for a learner's license.

People who hold a learner's license can ride a two-wheeler or drive a four-wheeler in the presence of a person who holds a valid Indian driving license. Vehicle insurance like Kotak General Insurance’s car insurance gives uncompromised safety and security to the riders. This kind of car insurance protects from damages arising out of uncanny incidents.

Permanent Driving Licence (DL):

A driver's license is a legal permit that enables the holder to drive/ride motor vehicles on Indian roads. Driving four-wheelers and two-wheelers in India requires a holder to possess a valid Indian driving license from any state or union territory. Any Indian citizen over the age of 18 holding a learner's license for at least 30 days can apply and be qualified to receive a driver's license as per the Motor Vehicle Act of India, 1988.

Commercial Driving Licence:

A commercial driver's license is necessary to drive a vehicle that has a seating capacity of more than 8 people. This driving license is given to citizens of India who drive vehicles for commercial activities like goods transportation or passenger transportation. A good example of the same would be a private or public bus.

The commercial driving license is issued to individuals who have a valid Indian driving license and are at least 20 years of age. Car insurance from Kotak General Insurance is a brilliant example of safeguarding one's assets, like the lives of the driver and passengers, as well as physical assets like the car, bus, and other heavy motor vehicles.

International Driving Permit (IDP):

An international driving permit is issued to the citizens of India who already have a valid driving license and intend to drive four-wheelers in a foreign country that recognizes the Indian driving license. International driving permits are generally given for a year, and they are only valid for a specific period from the date of issue.

To Wrap Up

The importance of having a driver's license and four-wheeler insurance cannot be emphasised enough. They safeguard and protect you and help you abide by the laws laid down by the Indian government.

Related blogs

Driving License in West Bengal

driving license in Maharashtra

Andhra Pradesh driving license.

Steps to upload driving licence and RC in DigiLocker and mParivahan

Team Kotak GIC

The content of this blog has been created and carefully reviewed by the esteemed team at Kotak General Insurance, with the sole purpose of providing valuable guidance and sharing insights on the importance of general insurance. Our objective is to assist users in making informed decisions when purchasing or renewing insurance policies for their cars, bikes, and health. Our expertly curated information aims to empower our readers with the knowledge they need to protect their valuable assets and financial interests.